Lorem ipsum proin gravida nibh vel veali quetean sollic lorem quis bibendum nibh vel velit.

Evently

Stay Connected & Follow us

Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

Join the Resilience Council at WTM Latin America

Join the Resilience Council at WTM Latin America

Join the Resilience Council from August 10-12 as we host a series of virtual interviews and panel discussions during WTM Latin America. All sessions will focus on the industry’s road to recovery, with topics including destination resilience, technology and women in travel.

We are delighted to be participating across all three days of the event, bringing together leaders from the public and private sectors to offer insight and experiences from across the globe.

Destinations Leading Recovery

​​​​​​CBS News travel expert Peter Greenberg will interview four ministers to discuss paths towards on-going resilience as the pandemic recedes and we become accustomed to living in a Covid world.  Hear how Egypt is resurrecting more of the past than ever before with the discovery of 22 mummies, the Parade of the Pharaohs and the opening of the new Grand Egyptian Museum, Jamaica is forging a path of safety and security of all visitors and Greece is using technology and predictive analytics to lead the way.  Finally, hear how Portugal is taking a fiscal approach and preparing to set the standards for sustainable destinations.

Madame Ghada Shalaby, Vice Minister of Tourism, Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities, Arab Republic of Egypt – Airing August 10 @ 8am (Brasilia) & 12pm BST.
Edmund Bartlett, Minister of Tourism, Jamaica – Airing August 11 @ 8am (Brasilia) & 12pm BST.
Haris Theoharis, Minister of Tourism, Greece – Airing August 12 @ 8am (Brasilia) & 12pm BST.
Rita Marques, Secretary of State, Travel, Portugal – Airing August 12 @ 3pm (Brasilia) & 7pm BST

Technology

In three individual segments, industry-leading technologists will discuss the fundamental role of technology in ensuring on-going resilience for destinations and travel suppliers.  Dan Richards will speak about the new wave in destination preparedness by countries adopting the CARES program and explain the difference between specially developed assurance programs and standard travel insurance and why the former delivers so much more.  In addition to the two interviews, Carlos Cendra of Mabrian will give a TedTalk-style overview of where data analytics have gone as a result of the pandemic.

Dan Richards, CEO, Global Rescue & Michael Goldsmith, President, Magellan Marketing – Airing August 10 @ 8:30am (Brasilia) & 12:30pm BST.
Carlos Cendra, CMO, Mabrian Technologies –Airing August 11 @ 8:30am (Brasilia) & 12:30pm BST.
Stephanie Boyle, Global Head, Communications, Skyscanner & Professor Lloyd Waller, Executive Director, Global Tourism Resilience and Crisis Management Centre, Jamaica – Airing August 12 @ 8:30am (Brasilia) & 12:30pm BST.

Women in Travel

Bringing personal experience to the fore, this session will comprise of three discussions including renowned industry voices in the fields of communications, implementation and advocacy.

Corporate Communications and Destination Resilience – Airing August 10 @ 11:15am (Brasilia) & 3:15pm BST.

Recovery is reliant upon correct messaging. Three women present their methodologies to get the right words in the right context to gain trust at critical times.

Rachel O’Reilly, Director of Communications, Kuoni, Leah Chandler, CMO, Discover Puerto Rico & Moderator: Elisa Spampinato, CEO/Founder, Travel Storyteller

Advocacy – Airing August 11 @ 11:15am (Brasilia) & 3:15pm GMT.

All it takes is one – these women will share how public policy making drives change and will discuss the ripple effect of one woman’s actions started on a week’s vacation.

Gloria Guevara, Chief Special Advisor, Ministry of Tourism, Saudi Arabia & Liz Ortiguera, CEO, Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA)
Moderator: Bettina Garibaldi, Senior Vice President, Managing Director, Travel, Hospitality & Economic Development, Ketcham

Implementation – Airing Tuesday 10 @ 10:30am Brasilia & 3:30pm UK.

You can have a thousand good ideas but if you can’t implement them, they mean nothing.  Hear how these women have succeeded in launching complicated programmes.

Helena Bononi, Vice-President Membership and Commercial, WTTC & Jill Sinclair, CEO, Global Health Associates Moderator: Dr. Mariana Aldrigui, Associate Professor, School of Arts, Sciences and Humanities, University of Sao Paulo.

All sessions will also be available post-registration in the 2021 Conferences and Seminars section of the What’s On tab on the WTM Latin America Website.